Module 11

After watching the Paul Miller’s Ted Talk and reading the articles, I can confirm that we as a generation are hugely dependent on technology. From the “What Happens When Teens Try to Disconnect From Technology for Three Days” article, I realize that even when we are doing homework, or doing activities in class, we are using different types of technology all the time. Instead of going to the library to check out books to do research, we just have to open our laptops and use a search engine to do the research for us. One of the teens had said that the conversation with his parents about politics would never of happened if he had his phone. He also had interacted and communicated with classmates that he usually wouldn’t have if he access to his technology. It was also said in the article that one of the students felt naked without his phone, in which I agree. I have broken a phone or two, and when you click your button on your phone for your screen to turn on and it doesn’t is almost a gut wrenching feeling. For the first couple hours of my phone being broken, I almost felt panic. What was I supposed to do without being able to check snapchat or twitter? By the end of the second day of not having a phone, it wasn’t as bad anymore. The reality set in that I didn’t really have anyone to talk to anyway and so the need to check my phone went down.

The “Simplify the Internet” article only reinforced what I already know. I’m checking and refreshing my day to day social medias way to much. I have a pretty patterned cycle in which I check my accounts. I typically will go through twitter first because there’s always someone out their tweeting away. Then I move on to snapchat and check everyone’s stories which are typically not that interesting anyway. Next is instagram, which is a little slower for me, I don’t follow too many people and I don’t post anything very often. Last, but not least is Facebook. I hate Facebook. I have an account, go through the news feed everyday, see the same people doing the same things all the time. I basically just use it to store pictures to be honest. I really don’t even need it. It almost annoys me to have it. But do I delete it? Of course I don’t. Completely logical right?

Leave a comment